Book meme!

Taken, with love, from jadepark.

Look at the list of books below. Bold the ones you’ve read, italicise the ones you want to read, cross out the ones you won’t touch with a 10 foot pole, put a cross (+) in front of the ones on your book shelf, and asterisk (*) the ones you’ve never heard of. Like jadepark, I’ve left unformatted the books to which I feel perfectly indifferent.

1. The Da Vinci Code (Dan Brown) – I argue regularly with a professor about the value of trash. I see some books as the equivalent of Oreos, or Cheetos–they are not good for you, but damn, they are tasty. So, I started it and thought it was boring and stopped reading. The movie was mildly entertaining.

2. Pride and Prejudice (Jane Austen) – I haven’t read it. I’ve read Northanger Abbey, Emma and some other one. All Jane Austen reads the same to me. As a lit nerd, it’s fun in terms of theory. As a reader, I’m not so enthralled.
3. (+) To Kill A Mockingbird (Harper Lee) – Still makes me weep.
4. (+) Gone With The Wind (Margaret Mitchell) – Entertaining. Like the movie more.
5. The Lord of the Rings: Return of the King (Tolkien) – Read it in high school. Love the premise, the story, the maps, the ingenuity. Really hard to get through.
6. The Lord of the Rings: Fellowship of the Ring (Tolkien) – see #5
7. The Lord of the Rings: Two Towers (Tolkien) – see #5, 6
8. (+) Anne of Green Gables (L.M. Montgomery) – I’d like to go back and re-read this book to see what I think now, but I re-read it in college one time when I was home on vacation and still loved it. I’ve read just about everything LM Montgomery ever wrote, including the novellas and “found” manuscripts. Between the ages of 9 and 14, I was always Anne in my dreams.

9. *Outlander (Diana Gabaldon) – never heard of it
10. *A Fine Balance (Rohinton Mistry) – never heard of it
11. + Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Rowling) – I love Harry Potter. I think the writing is witty and the plots are stellar.
12. Angels and Demons (Dan Brown) – never read it.
13. + Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Rowling) – see 11.
14. A Prayer for Owen Meany (John Irving) – I’ve never read John Irving. I know, I know. His latest book is sitting on my shelf.

15. Memoirs of a Geisha (Arthur Golden) – Not interested.

16. + Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (Rowling) – See 11, 13.
17. *Fall on Your Knees (Ann-Marie MacDonald) – ?
18. The Stand (Stephen King) – never read it.
19. + Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban(Rowling) – REPETITVE! But I think this may have been my favorite one.
20. + Jane Eyre (Charlotte Bronte) – Great book, great for theory. Wide Sargasso Sea? Interesting premise and yet so dull.

21. The Hobbit (Tolkien) – never read this one.
22. +The Catcher in the Rye (J.D. Salinger) – I actually like Salinger’s other books, and I like the Salinger mystique.

23. +Little Women (Louisa May Alcott) – Loved it, loved all of the Alcotts. Love the movies, including the one with Winona Ryder as Jo.

24. The Lovely Bones (Alice Sebold) – Disturbing and somehow, not disturbing enough.
25. +Life of Pi (Yann Martel) – After undergrad, I went through a literary drought. This is the book that got me reading again and thinking maybe I wanted to pursue my writing further. I love this book.

26. +The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (Douglas Adams) – Hilarious. Great movie, too.
27. Wuthering Heights (Emily Bronte) – I think I tried to read it. I never got into the romance stuff

28. +The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe (C. S. Lewis) – If Anne of Green Gables defined my pre-teen years, these books defined my teen years. Yes, I had already read them, but I re-read them and then the Perelandra Chronicles, and then all of CS Lewis’ books on Christian theology and his other novels. I was searching. He gave me some measure of comfort. I think Lewis is brilliant.

29. +East of Eden (John Steinbeck) – Contrary to popular literary theory and favorites, Steinbeck is a fucking genius and should be treated with more respect. I read this book on average once a year; did a mini-thesis on it in undergrad, and own three copies (including a library first edition of it).

30. Tuesdays with Morrie (Mitch Albom) – Meh.
31. Dune (Frank Herbert) – I watched the movie. While stoned.

32. The Notebook (Nicholas Sparks) – NEVER
33. +Atlas Shrugged (Ayn Rand) – People who obsess over Ayn Rand frighten me.
34. +1984 (Orwell) – hits home these days.
35. *The Mists of Avalon (Marion Zimmer Bradley) – ?
36. The Pillars of the Earth (Ken Follett) – Going back to my trash theory, Follet is a great genre novelist. Fantastic beach reading and really trashy sex scenes.

37. The Power of One (Bryce Courtenay) – Made into Stephen Dorff’s only decent movie. South Africa in apartheid. Boxing. Good read.

38. I Know This Much is True (Wally Lamb) – I liked this book and She’s Come Undone. Very readable, interesting psychological studies.

39. The Red Tent (Anita Diamant) – Fantastic premise, but didn’t do much for me.
40. The Alchemist (Paulo Coelho) – I don’t get this. People tell me it changes their lives and I just don’t get it.

41. The Clan of the Cave Bear (Jean M. Auel) – Never read it.
42. + The Kite Runner (Khaled Hosseini) – WOW. Wow, wowow, wow. I was blown away by this book, mainly because I underestimated it. Went on a little too long, but worth reading.

43. Confessions of a Shopaholic (Sophie Kinsella) – I like chick lit as beach reading, but of the Anna Maxted variety.

44. The Five People You Meet In Heaven (Mitch Albom) – Puke.
45. +Bible – Took a class in college. Old Testiment is great stuff. I love Judith and Ruth.

46. Anna Karenina (Tolstoy) – Never read it. (Yes, this is shameful.)
47. The Count of Monte Cristo (Alexandre Dumas) – Yay revenge!

48. +Angela’s Ashes (Frank McCourt) – So readable, so sadly beautiful.

49. +The Grapes of Wrath (John Steinbeck) – See my entry on East of Eden.
50. +She’s Come Undone (Wally Lamb) – Readable, interesting. Identified with it when undiagnosed with depression.
51. The Poisonwood Bible (Barbara Kingsolver) – I don’t think this is Kingsolver’s best by any means, but I thought it was a great story.
52. +A Tale of Two Cities (Dickens) – As a lit person, I think Dickens is fascinating. This is one of the few books of his I would recommend to non-lit people!
53. *Ender’s Game (Orson Scott Card) – ?
54. + Great Expectations (Dickens) – Miss Havisham is one of the best villains of all time! (And I love the movie with Ethan Hawke and Gwyneth Paltrow).
55. + The Great Gatsby (Fitzgerald) – The eyes of Dr. T.J. Eckleburg kill me everytime.  For plot, for characters, for sheer style alone, one of the best novels of all time.

56. * The Stone Angel (Margaret Laurence) – ?
57. +Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Rowling) – See previous HP entries.

58. The Thorn Birds (Colleen McCullough) – Never read it.

59. +The Handmaid’s Tale (Margaret Atwood) – Really liked it–amazing plot, scarier than 1984 to me. Like some of her other works better.
60. *The Time Traveller’s Wife (Audrew Niffenegger) – ?

61. Crime and Punishment (Fyodor Dostoyevsky) – Never read it. (Again, shameful.)
62. +The Fountainhead (Ayn Rand) – Best of Ayn Rand’s books. Still, people who obsess over Rand freak me out.
63. War and Peace (Tolstoy) – Not up on my Russians.
64. Interview With The Vampire (Anne Rice) – never read it.
65. *Fifth Business (Robertson Davis) – ?

66. One Hundred Years Of Solitude (Gabriel Garcia Marquez) – Never read it. High on my “To read immediately, you ignoramus” list.

67. The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants (Ann Brashares) – never read it.
68. +Catch-22 (Joseph Heller) – I think I was too young and didn’t get it.

69. Les Miserables (Hugo) – I prefered 20 thousand leagues under the sea. I think I have a penchant for the fantastical.

70. The Little Prince (Antoine de Saint-Exupery) – Another book people say changed their lives, and I think it’s lovely, but I don’t get it.

71. +Bridget Jones’ Diary (Fielding) – Funny. Still prefer Maxted and Lisa Jewett in the field of chick lit.

72. Love in the Time of Cholera (Marquez) – Never read it. (See above concerning list…)
73. Shogun (James Clavell) – never read it.

74. The English Patient (Michael Ondaatje) – never read it.
75. +The Secret Garden (Frances Hodgson Burnett) – Loved this book growing up.
76. *The Summer Tree (Guy Gavriel Kay) – ?
77. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn (Betty Smith) – I vaguely remember reading it and liking it. I thought the movie was better.
78. The World According To Garp (John Irving) – never read it.
79. *The Diviners (Margaret Laurence) – ?

80. + Charlotte’s Web (E.B. White) – Still makes me weep!
81. * Not Wanted On The Voyage (Timothy Findley) – ?
82. +Of Mice And Men (Steinbeck) – Still makes me weep.
83. Rebecca (Daphne DuMaurier) – I have blocked it out.

84. *Wizard’s First Rule (Terry Goodkind)- ?

85. +Emma (Jane Austen) – Again, liked the movie version better (esp. Clueless.)

86. Watership Down (Richard Adams) – Made me cry hysterically as a child.
87. +Brave New World (Aldous Huxley) – Eh. It’s been awhile.

88. *The Stone Diaries (Carol Shields) – ?.
89. Blindness (Jose Saramago) – Haven’t read it.

90. *Kane and Abel (Jeffrey Archer) – ??
91. *In The Skin Of A Lion (Ondaatje) – ?.
92. +Lord of the Flies (Golding) – SWEET JESUS THIS WAS MIDDLE SCHOOL.
93. +The Good Earth (Pearl S. Buck) – Liked it a long time ago.

94. The Secret Life of Bees (Sue Monk Kidd) – haven’t read it.
95. The Bourne Identity (Robert Ludlum) – movie was good!
96. The Outsiders (S.E. Hinton) – I loved this book when I was in middle school. See Lord of the Flies entry.
97. White Oleander (Janet Fitch) – Haven’t read it, but really want to.
98. *A Woman of Substance (Barbara Taylor Bradford) – ?
99. The Celestine Prophecy (James Redfield) I tried reading it and it was so poorly written that I wanted to puke.
100. +Ulysses (James Joyce) – I love Joyce as much, but in a different way, as I love Steinbeck. For reals. This is why I balance him with trash. He’s amazing. I lost myself in Ulysses during college and I think it saved my life. Yes, you need the semester course and the three annotated versions to make sense of it, but it’s truly a masterpiece.

Stats:

* Read 56

* Own 37

* Want to read 10 (ish)

* Indifferent 15

* Never heard of 15

4 Comments

  1. jadepark said,

    February 18, 2007 at 8:22 pm

    OMG! You hit Lovely Bones on the head (“Not disturbing enough”)…Harry Potter is a jewel isn’t he? And I didn’t know that The Great Gatsby is your favorite book of all time, too!

  2. February 18, 2007 at 8:59 pm

    Precisely on Lovely Bones. I wanted to have a reaction like I had with Lolita, where I hate myself for sympathizing with Humbert. It’s one of the reasons I love the movie Seven–I can’t look away.

    Sadly, The Great Gatsby–while ranking in my top 10 easily–isn’t my favoritest. I cut and pasted and forgot to write what I thought of it! Oops…. I’m changing that now. But I do love anything Fitzgerald and the story of F. Scott and Zelda kills me.

  3. John Campbell Rees said,

    February 19, 2007 at 12:23 am

    Interesting idea, I might borrow it for my web log later.
    As I work in a library and have access to all of the above, I should have read more of this list than I have.
    As for the Harry Potter books, dear God, Rowling needs to get an editor who isn’t afraid of losing their job if the dare to critisize the great author. The last three Potter novels could have been 150 pages shorter.

  4. Desmoidian said,

    February 26, 2007 at 5:44 am

    Lucky for you, several of the books you’ve never read (but should have) are now actually on your bookshelves…


Leave a comment